John Mark Verdier House
HOURS OF OPERATION
Docent-guided tours every hour on the 1/2 hour
from 10:30 AM until 3:30 PM.
Closed Sundays and Holidays
Docents and Guides await your visit!
JOHN MARK VERDIER HOUSE
OPEN TO THE PUBLIC
Incorporated in 1965, Historic Beaufort Foundation, under the leadership of Board President Lucy Hall, with support from Mayor Henry Chambers and others, championed the effort to restore the John Mark Verdier House, opening to the public in 1975.
Help us reach our Goal
to Paint the Lady this year!
John Mark Verdier House.
In 2017, HBF launched the Paint the Lady campaign to raise funds to properly prepare and paint the exterior of Beaufort’s flagship property, the John Mark Verdier House.
We are pleased to report that we have reached a pivotal turning point in our fundraising by raising a major portion of our goal.
Our plan is for completion of these improvements by early 2021.
We have recently discovered that the house’s tabby foundation is covered in Roman cement and painted (scored) to appear as if it were stone.
Noted tabby expert Colin Brooker has stated that the use of Roman cement on the Verdier House is probably the earliest known use of this product in Beaufort and possibly the Lowcountry.
this iconic downtown building a long-awaited facelift.
Politician, merchant, publisher, naval pilot, and son of a slave, Robert Smalls left a legacy that even today is far-reaching.
Bay Street in 1863
Historic Beaufort is proud to exhibit an architectural scale model of Bay Street as it appeared during the Civil War.
New exhibits are coming soon to the John Mark Verdier House.